PDA

View Full Version : Miata or 944 faster?

Kai
06-05-2007, 11:47 AM
A question from a complete noob who knows very little about miatas or 944s:

Which has the faster cars (around Pueblo) Spec Miata or the Spec 944 class?

What's a good lap time for both?

Snymo
06-05-2007, 11:56 AM
Well, after one race for Spec 944 at Pueblo, here are the track records

Spec 944 = 1:56.945
Spec Miata (SCCA) = 01:48.365

Give the guys a chance to get used to thier cars and they will close the gap a little. I ran a 1:52.000 in an ITS 944 in 2003. But, the miatas that run national spec miata (in SCCA) are almost 8-10x the price of a spec 944 car.

Chuck do you agree?

Rick

chris_venturini
06-05-2007, 12:14 PM
well, at la junta we were extremely close in times and us 944 guys havent built our cars completely yet, i dont know about the miata guys though. Pueblo was our very first race and most of our cars were completely stock so i dont know if those times are a good way of comparing the two classes.

i looked into spec miata and 944 spec and the reason i joined 944 was that its a fraction of the cost to have a competitive car, and (not to offend anyone here as its not anyone with NASA), but a few of the spec miata guys i knew from S**A were pretty arrogant and thought they were the second coming of racing jesus. plus 944s just look so much better! ;)

Weston
06-05-2007, 12:36 PM
iirc, Todd from Utah got down around 1:53 in his '83 944 at Pueblo in March, but it wasn't during a main race. It's my understanding that his car wasn't fully built to the rules, and he hadn't driven Pueblo before, so I would think that it's possible to get a 944-Spec below that.

At La Junta, the two Spec Miatas were running comparable lap times with 944-Spec. Here are our best times from Sunday's main race...

Dave Dirks (944 w/ full suspension): 1:02.146
Chris V (944 w/ medium suspension): 1:04.053
Weston (944 w/ "less than stock" suspension): 1:04.920

Glenn Saucier (Miata): 1:02.047