NASA Rocky Mountain  

« Homepage
RM Forums

:: NASA National Site
Join NASA/Renew
Member Benefits
About NASA

:: Event Schedule
2017 Details
Register For Events

:: High Performance
Drivers Education

Tech Stations

:: Time Trials
Time Trial Info
2017 Points
Tech Stations
TT Licensing
Reserved Numbers

:: Racing
2017 Points
Racing Classes
Rules & Regs
Tech Stations
Reserved Numbers

Get Involved

Download Forms
Other NASA Regions


Custom Exhaust, Headers, Roll Cages, and 


Performance Shop and Dyno

Go Back   NASA RM Forums > General > NASA National News

NASA National News Announcements from the Administrators. This forum is "Read Only".

Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2017, 07:18 PM   #1
RM Regional Director
1998 Ford Monte Carlo ST3
2016 NASA Elan NP01 #16
Location: Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6,089
NASA Drivers Comprise Majority of 2017 Mazda Road to 24 Shootout Roster

The Mazda Road to 24 Shootout selects the very best amateur drivers who race a Mazda or Mazda-powered vehicles. The Shootout also pulls in virtual racers from the world of iRacing, competitors from the NASA Teen Mazda Challenge, the Skip Barber Series and the Formula Car National Challenge.

This year, 13 of the 19 eligible drivers selected are NASA racers. In 2014, five of the eight finalists were NASA racers, and in 2015, 15 of 23 semifinalists came from NASA. What’s even more telling, five of the last seven winners of the Shootout have come from NASA.

“NASA racers make up 68 percent of the field of eligible drivers for this year’s Mazda Road to 24 Shootout. That’s an incredible figure,” said NASA director of business development Jeremy Croiset. “It’s a testament to the level of competition in NASA, and the caliber of our drivers. We’re really proud of our guys, and we wish them the best in the Shootout.”

The drivers are competing for the Shootout’s $100,000 scholarship, which they will use to support a season of professional racing in the 2018 Battery Tender MX-5 Cup presented by BFGoodrich Tires. It’s the largest prize in amateur motorsports and a high-water mark for drivers selected to take part.

“The criteria for the Shootout have been created to identify the aspiring professional racer who has the most complete set of skills required to succeed in motorsport,” said David Cook, business development manager for Mazda Motorsports. “These skills include speed, consistency, race craft, technical understanding, and off-track business and PR skills. History has shown that a driver will be limited in success if he or she is lacking in multiple areas. It will be a big challenge for the judges to narrow these 19 racers to our finalists. It will be an even larger task to select a $100,000 winner.”

Now in its 12th year, the Shootout is the best way for an amateur to climb the ladder into pro racing, though it certainly isn’t the easiest. To be considered, you have to win a Championships event in a Mazda or Mazda-powered car or racing online. Mazda also awards “at-large” spots to worthy candidates.

The Shootout takes place Dec. 8, 2017, at Bondurant Racing School in Chandler, Ariz.

NASA Drivers in the 2017 Mazda Road to 24 Shootout

Jay Aranha – NASA NP01 (at-large)
Ryan Dexter – Teen Mazda Challenge Rocky Mountain Region Champion
Brian Henderson – Teen Mazda Challenge Mid-Atlantic Region / NASA East PTE Champion
Tristan Littlehale – NASA West Spec Miata Champion
Brian Lock – NASA West NP01 Champion
Aaron Michelet – NASA PTC (at-large)
Matt Million – Teen Mazda Challenge (at-large)
Austin Newmark – NASA ST4 (at-large)
Bryan Putt – NASA East Super Unlimited Champion
Selin Rollan – NASA Spec Miata (at-large)
Michael Ross – NASA East Spec Miata Champion
Nick Sommers – Teen Mazda Challenge West Coast Region Champion
Danny Soufi – Teen Mazda Challenge Texas Region Champion

bpanther is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:46 PM.

Hawk Racing Pads    Toyo Racing Tires WWR Racing WWR Racing

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© National Auto Sport Association